D.I.Y / home

DIY: Home made reed diffusers.

wp-1457000322158.jpg

wp-1453133046075.jpg

I re-used an empty diffuser bottle. No-one will ever know the difference. 

I love an excuse to get crafty especially when it is quick and easy to do. This DIY tutorial takes less then five minutes and is an excuse to use all of those cute little bottles that you have been hoarding over the years.

Reed diffusers are a great way to gently freshen up your home with gorgeous scents. The other half & I are fans of natural smells like tea tree & lavender and I got some essential oils for Christmas so I decided to give this a go. I used to love buying ‘Next’ diffusers in particular until I discovered that I could make my own. I must point out that this is only a subtle way to scent your house and they work best in small areas like a bathroom or small bedroom. If you want to put them in the lounge or master bedroom then I would suggest having a few of them dotted around.

wp-1453133283845.jpg

What you will need.

Time taken: 5 minutes.

What you will need:
Base oil.
Essential oils.
Glass, jar or bottle (preferably with a narrow neck)
Reed diffuser sticks.

Before you start it is important to pick your oils.
Base oil: I use fractionated coconut oil. You can also use safflower, jojoba or sweet almond.
Essential oil: I love tea tree, eucalyptus and lavender but you can also chose others like cedarwood, peppermint, Rose, jasmine or lemon and you can mix multiple oils together.

wp-1453133007224.jpg

Oils I have used.

Instructions:
1) Pour 30ml of of your base oil into your glass bottle.
2) Add your essential oil(s). I used 20 drops of tea tree.
3) Add your reed sticks.
4) After a few hours flip the reed sticks up the other way so the smell travels down them.
5) Find a safe convenient place to show them off.

wp-1453133067341.jpg

All ready to go.

Where to buy products used:
My base oil and reed sticks were ordered from Ebay.
The essential oils were a gift purchased from Boots.
The glass bottle I used was from a Starbucks drink I purchased in Tesco.

Please let me know if you give this a go.
I would love to know what oils/scents you tried.

wp-1457000319211.jpg

2 thoughts on “DIY: Home made reed diffusers.

  1. Pingback: How to get your shit together in just a few hours. | Tou89lou UK Lifestyle Blog

  2. Pingback: The ultimate list of blog post ideas for lifestyle bloggers 2017. | Confessions of A Hot Mess

Leave a Reply

