Life / Lists

7 Valuable lessons I learned in 2015.

So 2015 was a complete whirlwind of a year! Like most years it had its ups and downs but overall it was fantastic. I made mistakes but that’s okay because I have learnt from them. I have overcome lots of challenges and ticked lots of things off my bucket list. For me 2015 has been my favourite year yet. I have achieved so much and seen some pretty amazing things.

I thought I would share with you some valuable & unexpected lessons I learned in 2015.

1) You can’t always trust your eyes!

Remember the Blue/Black & White/Gold dress debate! Lighting can play tricks on your eyes! (I saw Blue/Black BTW) soz!

Also in the example below the grey squares A & B look like different shades in the first picture. If you join them together they are the exact same shade. Your eyes believe that due to the shadow they are different!  This had me arguing until I was blue in the face. I lost! They are in fact the same colour. This just goes to show you that cannot always trust what your eyes are showing you.

2) Moving house is the most stressful thing EVER!

I have become a bit of a pro at this now. I moved 3 times in 2015 and can honestly say I don’t ever want to move again! All 3 moves were stressful and time consuming and I can’t believe how much crap I have accumulated over the years! I am settled in my new house now and intend to be there for some time! I have however learnt that I do not need 6 black cardigans, 15 gift bags or 30 mugs for tea (you get the drift). De cluttering has been fun and rather cleansing. Give it a go – you might be surprised at how many bags for the charity shop you come up with.

3) As soon I turned 25 my metabolism gave up!

Does this sound familiar? My weight has always been up & down but as long as I exercised a little bit I could always eat what ever I wanted! That was until I turned 25! Suddenly I only have to look at a yoghurt and I put on 4 lbs! I have to work much harder to maintain let alone to lose weight! Jeez – give me a break. My mum did warn me over the years ‘It’ll catch up with you one day’. Did I believe her? Hell no! Well it happened & it sucks! I am determined that this year I will make some positive changes and shed those extra Christmas lbs early. Stay tuned as I will be posting some food/shake related posts in the future.

4) True friends ALWAYS have time for each other. 

Acquaintances come and go but real friends are in it for the long haul. It doesn’t matter if you live 5 minutes or 70 miles away, true friends always make time for each other. I have a great group of girlfriends who I can really rely on in times of crisis & even though we don’t see each other every month, when we do get together its as if we have never been apart. They keep me sane & I love them dearly.

5) I am very excited for the future.

In 2015 I finally felt like I reached my peak. Everything is falling into place nicely. I wake up everyday and look forward to the day ahead. I enjoy my job & the prospects that will open up in the future. I love my new home in my new town. I am crazy in love with my boyfriend and we have lots of great plans for the future. I feel very lucky and will continue to work hard & play harder. If you are not excited for the future, maybe its time you take a leap of faith & make some changes?

6) Not everyone will be happy for you.

This one hit me hard! Some of the people who I thought would be happy for me showed their true colours. Some of them disappeared of the face of the earth, some only contact me when they want something, I have had nasty jibes & indirect status updates aimed at me and lots of lame excuses. Well it got to me at first (a lot). I couldn’t understand why. I’m still me, only happier and in a much better place in my life. As a mature 20 something woman I now know that the answer is Jealousy. Some people will be bitter that you went forward ahead of them. Some people will not like to see you succeed. That’s ok – that is their personality. In the words of Elsa ‘Let it gooooo’. At the end of the day surrounding yourself with negative people will only bring you down. It’s your life and you HAVE to put yourself first & do what makes you happy. Real friends/Family will support you and be over the moon for you. Everyone else can stay in 2015.

7) Life is all about the journey & not about the destination.

At the end of the day we all end up 6 feet under whether you are rich, poor, black or white. The moral of this story is to just enjoy your journey. Everyone is different and everybody wants different things out of life. Whatever it is you want to do make the most of each day and gain as much experience as you can. You only get a short time here. So live life to the fullest & don’t be afraid to try new things. Ask yourself – what is the worst that could happen? It doesn’t work out? Fine try something else.   🙂

a5c52d1dc885ca0a497b4675a1fed515

Live, Laugh, Love!

Thanks for reading – if you enjoy my posts please hit ‘subscribe’ so that you don’t miss any!

Did you learn anything new in 2015?
Leave me a comment below.

wp-1451986259167.png

Tou89Lou

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “7 Valuable lessons I learned in 2015.

  1. Pingback: The ultimate list of blog post ideas for lifestyle bloggers 2017. | Confessions of A Hot Mess

Leave a Reply

